Candombe: Afro-Uruguayan Musical Expresion.
Canfusion, the title of this album, is a composed word with double meaning: Candombe-Fusion. It reflects the purpose of this project, which is to fuse Candombe with other musical genres. We hope you will like this project which we offer you with respect and dedication. Enjoy it!

Line up

  • Ugo Delmirani (Piano, Synths, Sampling, Vocals)
  • Jorge Almonacid (Tambor, Madera, Percussion)
  • Ulises “Guabiyu” Garcia (Vocals, Tambor)
  • Coqui Reca (Vocals, Guitar, Trombone)
  • Phil Steriopulos (Electric Bass)
  • Alex Perez (Timbales, Congas, Bongo, Guira)
  • Isabel Fructuoso (Backing Vocals)
  • Osvaldo Fattoruso (Drums)
  • Guillermo Hill (Electric Guitar)
  • German “Lukas” Santana (Percussion and Clay-pot: Pacha Mama)
  • Jamie Anderson (Sax: La Verdad)

El Calefon

Coqui Reca y El Calefon

Enter El Calefón, the latest in the Brazilian (and Argentinean) musical wave. Led by guitarist and singer Coqui Reca, El Calefón has been making music since 1983, mixing indigenous percussive styles all the way.

Line up

  • Coqui Reca (Vocals, Guitar)
  • Pablo Miguez (Guitar)
  • Fernando Moraes (keyboards)
  • Ney Portilho (bass-guitar)
  • Roger Blavia (drums, congas, bongos, percussion, vocal)
  • Guests: Julio Martins (keyb: El Burrito/La Ley de Gravedad), Dudu Penz (el-b: La Ley de Gravedad), Charlie Spiteri (voc, guiro), Daniel Conde (congas: Busco), Joe Klinglehoffer (tromb, steel drum), Steve Trop (tromb), Steve Rentschler (trumpet, horn), Vedam Roche (flute), Luis Cide-Bombo Leguero (No Tiren Mas), Gustavo Gabetta (voc), Einat Rotterman (voc)
  • Dedico Este Disco a Mi Mujer Einat: A Miguel Abuelo Y A Todos Los Mundos

Salir del Algujero

In "Coqui Reca's" music you can hear everything within the range of the various cultures involved and their different means of expression - South American folk music, Salsa, Samba, Rumba, Reggae, Funk, pure jazz, to name but a few.

Line up

  • Coqui Reca (Guitar, Vocals)
  • Gustavo Gabetta ( Bass, Guitar)
  • Pablo Miguez (Guitar, Vocals)
  • Julio Martins (Piano, Synthesizer, Vocals)
  • Otavio Castro (Drums, Percussion, Vocals)
  • Additionally: Jon Otis (Drums, Percussion), Cristian Ostermaier (Sax, Flute), Philipe Kienholz (Synths), Tadeu Pinheiro (Brasilean Perc), Indio DaCuica (Cuica, Percussion)